Yoga Poses For Each Chakra

When it comes to yoga, understanding the chakras is essential. Whether you’re just starting out, or a seasoned practitioner, feeling the flow of energy through your body can bring amazing insights into your practice. Chakras are the wheels of light that store and circulate energy throughout your body. They help you to live and move with purpose, connecting with your body, mind, and spirit.

Root Chakra – Muladhara

The root chakra, otherwise known as Muladhara, is located right at the base of the spine. It is associated with physical needs and is the foundation of your being, enabling you to be grounded and secure in the physical world. It is linked to the color red. If the root chakra is balanced, you will feel emotionally safe and stable, allowing yourself to trust and have faith. If out of balance, you may feel scared and anxious. When you are connecting with the root chakra, focus on the physical sensations in your body.

Sacral Chakra – Svadisthana

The second chakra is located just below your navel and is associated with the color orange. This is your sacral chakra, or Svadisthana. It is linked to emotions and creativity. When the sacral chakra is unbalanced, you may feel sad, disconnected, and stuck. When balanced, your creativity and ability to express yourself openly are unlocked. When connecting to the sacral chakra turn your focus inward and be mindful of the emotions that surface.

Solar Plexus Chakra – Manipura

The third chakra is located in the solar plexus, hence the Manipura and is associated with the color yellow. It is connected to your sense of identity and will-power. When unbalanced, your self-esteem may be low and you may have difficulty manifesting your plans. To bring balance to this chakra, start with lengthening your spine and breathing deeply.

Heart Chakra – Anahata

The fourth chakra, also referred to as the heart chakra or Anahata, is located at the center of your chest and is connected to the color green. The heart chakra is about love and being good to yourself. When this chakra is balanced, you will feel more compassion and kindness towards yourself and others. When unbalanced, you may notice yourself feeling overly needy or reliant on others. To bring balance to the heart chakra, practice self-care and focus on expanding your chest area.

Throat Chakra – Vissudha

The fifth chakra is located at the base of your throat and is associated with the color blue. Called Vissudha, this chakra is related to communication and self-expression. Out of balance, you may experience difficulty speaking the truth and may struggle to receive the communication of others. To bring this chakra into balance, focus on the throat area and practice speaking honestly.

Third Eye Chakra – Ajna

Yoga Chakra Guide - Asheville Yoga Center Blog Post